School Closings and Delays

The superintendent or superintendent’s designee may order the closing, the delay in opening or the early dismissal of any or all schools in order to protect the safety and welfare of the students and staff. Unless employees are notified that their work schedule is changed because of adverse weather or emergency conditions, it is expected that all employees will work according to the terms of their contract and division policy. During adverse weather or emergency conditions, employees follow guidelines from the superintendent related to work schedules. The guidelines may be reviewed by the school board.

In addition to school closing information posted on all of our school and division home pages you can find information concerning school closings or delayed openings for Fredericksburg City Public Schools by checking one of the following:

  • WVBX (FM 99.3)
  • WWUZ (FM 96.9)
  • WFLS (FM 93.3)
  • WFVA (FM 101.5 and AM1230)
  • WGRQ (Super Hits 95.9)
  • WGRX (Thunder 104.5)
  • WTVR Channel 6
  • WRC Channel 4
  • WUSA Channel 9
  • WRIC Channel 8
  • Local Educational Access Channel 18

We encourage parents to signup for alerts on, visit our Website, the website, or listen to one of the radio or television stations listed above.


Virginia Preschool Initiative: Doors open at 8:05AM, tardy bell is at 8:30AM, dismissal at 3PM.

Early Childhood Special Education: Doors open at 8:05AM, tardy belly is at 8:30AM, dismissal is at 11:30AM for 2 year olds, and 1:30PM for 3 and 4 year olds.

Head Start: Doors open at 8:05AM, tardy bell at 8:30AM, dismissal at 1:30PM for 3 year olds, and 3PM for 4 year olds.

Both elementary schools: Doors open at 8AM, tardy bell at 8:30AM, dismissal at 3:15PM. 

Walker-Grant Middle: Doors open at 7:15AM, tardy bell at 7:40AM, dismissal at 2:40PM.

James Monroe High: Doors open at 7AM, tardy bell at 7:45AM, dismissal at 2:45PM.


Hugh Mercer Elementary School 12:45 P.M.

Lafayette Upper Elementary School 12:45 P.M.

Walker-Grant Middle School 12:20 P.M.

James Monroe High School 12:02 P.M.

Original Walker-Grant RISE and STARS 12:35 P.M.

Head Start 11:15 A.M.
Preschool –ECSE 11:15 A.M.



Hugh Mercer Elementary School 10:35 A.M. – 3: 15 P.M. (Regular closing)

Lafayette Upper Elementary School 10:25 A.M. – 3: 15 P.M. (Regular closing)

Walker-Grant Middle School 9:40 A.M. -2:40 P.M. (Regular closing)

James Monroe High School 9:45 A.M. -2:45 P.M. (Regular closing)

Original Walker-Grant RISE and STARS 10:30 A.M. – 2:00 P.M. (Regular closing)

Head Start 9:00 A.M. – 1:30 P.M. (Regular closing)
Preschool –ECSE 9:00 A.M. – 1:30 P.M. (Regular closing)



James Monroe High School will close first at a set time.
Head Start and Preschool will follow immediately. Walker-Grant
Middle School, Lafayette Upper Elementary School, and Hugh
Mercer Elementary School buses will arrive after they make the James Monroe runs.